December 26, 2016 – White Christmas

Christmas was WONDERFUL! I got to go to church, eat yummy food, spend
quality time with good people, AND SKYPE THE BEST PEOPLE ON THE PLANET EARTH: THE DOBBINS GANG. Love those guys. It was incredible being able
to see their faces, hear them laugh, and see them cry. I love them so
much!! I am sooo grateful for this gospel and that I am able to be
sealed to my family for time and for all eternity! And I am so
grateful for the opportunity to be in Grants Pass, Oregon, spreading
Jesus Christ’s gospel so families can be with each other for eternity.
It’s amazing. And incredibly rewarding. I love it!

So this week was awesome, still seeing tons of great miracles. 👍🏻
love it here!
Also, we totally didn’t get a white Christmas. It was a nice day out
though! Haha, I did take a picture with some snow though. 😂

Anyway, I love this gospel! I know Jesus Christ is our Savior. I know
that HE LIVES! I know that through Jesus Christ we can become healed
from sorrow, sin, sadness, guilt, and shame, etc. It is through the
Atonement that we can have hope.

I hope you all had a beautiful Christmas! Happy New Year!! Be safe! I love you!
Love,
Sister Dobbins

Displaying image2.JPGDisplaying image5.JPGDisplaying image4.PNGDisplaying image3.PNG

And hey, zone conference was on Tuesday and it was awesome!!!! For part of it, President showed us this cool video!! You should see it. It’s ‘the test: you knew what I was when you picked me up’.
You knew what I was when you picked me up – click to follow the link
It was cool. Also I got called on to speak, out of like 40 missionaries, hahahahaha. Fun stuff! It was another talk about the Savior! Here’s my outline. It’s jumbled and disorganized.

Zone Conference Talk……….

Jesus Christ’s life: he was perfect and full of love.

We can come to know him in our heart by striving to become like Him.

  • Moroni 7:46-47 charity is the pure love of Christ. Lately, when I think of the word charity, I think of #Light the World! We had a miraculous experience sharing the video with someone. He was probably in his 20’s. We OYM’d him. He was super into it!! It was incredible. He said things like, “Yeah!” “That’s what’s I’m talkin’ about!” He was so grateful to us for sharing the video to him. We had a great conversation with him afterwards. He loved the video because it showed people showing Christlike love to others. He had such strong faith in his savior and in the pure love of Christ. As we were talking to him, I realized that the way he came to know his savior Jesus Christ, is by striving to be like him.
  • When I think of Jesus Christ’s life, I think of all the amazing miracles he performed. All of the people he healed. I think of his humility, his patience, and most of all, His love for everyone.
  • Matt 26:39 I learn from this because Jesus Christ was in so much pain. And he didn’t just say, “get me out of this, I give up.” He submitted His will to His Father. I know that as we remind ourselves of this, and humble ourselves, we can come to know Jesus Christ in our hearts.
  • Sheep, Shepherds, and Sheepherders: James R. Ross> “Have you ever seen a sheepherder in one of our western mountain canyons directing the sheep? He is usually at the rear of the flock, slouched down on his horse, sound asleep. And doing the work are half a dozen small dogs yapping and barking at the heels of the sheep. He is a sheepherder. A few months ago in Munich, Germany, I saw a true shepherd. There he was with staff in hand, singing, walking in front of his flock; and the flock followed behind him. When he turned to the left, the sheep turned to the left; when he went to the right, they went to the right. There were no dogs barking at the heels of his sheep. They indeed knew their shepherd and were following the pathway he took.”
  • I want to liken this to ourselves.
  • D&C 58:26-29> be anxiously engaged in a good cause.
  • As we are striving to be charitable, are we doing it as a shepherd? Or are we slothful like a sheepherder? We need to be striving to be like the savior, our shepherd.
  • John 10:1-15> parable of the lost sheep
  • “When a sheepherder finds a lost sheep, he sends it back to the flock with a swift kick and angry words, unmindful of why it was lost, what injuries it may have suffered as a result, and the difficulties it might have in rejoining the flock after being separated for a period of time. The shepherd treats the sheep very differently. And when he hath found it, he layeth it on his shoulders rejoicing.” (Luke 15:5.)

Love,

Sister Dobbins
Leave a Reply

