November 14, 2016 – All is swell in Creswell

Hey!!
I am in Creswell! I love it. It is a cute little town! Oregon is so
beautiful this time of year! And I absolutely love Sister Van Leuven!
She’s amazing! We have so much fun together! And there is tons of
amazing work to do here in Creswell.

We are teaching two totally solid people. One of them is Adam. He’s
50. He has been meeting with missionaries since the spring. He is
dating an LDS woman and he went to her home for Thanksgiving, and was
astonished by the atmosphere. No drinking, no fighting, just love and
good company. Haha. Well he came to church and he told the bishop that
he wanted to be baptized! And he has come a long way. He is getting
baptized this Sunday!! Wahoo!!! So exciting!

And George!!! He’s so awesome!!! He is on date for baptism as well. He
is so cool. He is struggling with coffee and smoking, but he is
progressing and has so much faith! He is trying to have the worlds
biggest gum sculpture, so he is always chewing gum. I’ll attach a pic.
He doesn’t exactly know how big it needs to be but he’s just working
on it.

So we live with nonmembers. On one half of their house. It’s a cute old place!

So I read and loved this scripture:
2 Nephi 33:1 And now I, Nephi, cannot write all the things which were
taught among my people; neither am I mighty in writing, like unto
speaking; for when a man speaketh by the power of the Holy Ghost the
power of the Holy Ghost carrieth it unto the hearts of the children of
men.

And I pondered this and found some awesome words from Elder David A. Bednar!

“Nephi teaches us, ‘when a man speaketh by the power of the Holy Ghost
the power of the Holy Ghost carrieth [the message] unto the hearts of
the children of men’. Please notice how the power of the Spirit
carries the message UNTO but not necessarily INTO the heart. A teacher
can explain, demonstrate, persuade, and testify, and do so with great
spiritual power and effectiveness. Ultimately, however, the content of
a message and the witness of the Holy Ghost penetrate into the heart
only if a receiver allows them to enter”.

I love this!! We need to allow our hearts to accept the teachings of
the Holy Ghost.
I love you all. Have a great week!!
Love,
Sister Dobbins

Attached are pics of sister Van Leuven and I, and I hit my 9-month
mark so we took a pic (barf I’m half way), us and our house, and
George and his gross/cool/idk gum sculpture

 Displaying image4.JPGDisplaying image3.JPGDisplaying image2.JPGDisplaying image1.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

