August 23, 2016 – Not a trio in Springfield

So it’s just Sister Gregory and I!! ๐Ÿ™‚ She’s from Preston, Idaho. Haha yeah. She went to Napoleon Dynamite’s high school, and she said that every year for student counsel elections, they actually do skits. And every year someone does the Napoleon dance. So basically you can say she’s my favorite companion. Lol jk. But she is actually super awesome I love her.
Not much actually happened this week, I always say that, but literally not that much happened this week.

So super stellar story… Yesterday in gospel principles class, the teacher asked a question about the Book of Mormon, “Who is Jacob?” And no one answers, but John, our investigator raises his hand!! He goes on and answers that “Jacob is the brother of Nephi and Nephi left the record for his descendants to continue.” And my mind was totally blown because I literally have the best investigator ever.

So the no more trio story:

I picked Sister Gregory up in Eugene Monday morning. Then we come back to Springfield. Then we go back to the Eugene church later because Sister Mann was going to be there, coming from Brookings. So we are in a trio for a total of 10 minutes, and the AP’s come tell us that we’re no longer in a trio because Sister Schrecengost is going home because she had a seizure. So we leave Eugene. As we are headed home, we get a call from President Russell and he tells us that Sister Schrecengost is staying the night with us and we will drive her to the airport in the morning. So we drive back to Eugene. We get Sister Schrecengost and it was so sad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ seeing missionaries go home is heartbreaking. She gets in our car and President Russell calls again…. and tells Sister Schrecengost that she can stay, and that she’ll be on a different medication, and she’ll be in a trio with us!!! So it was a fun first night being in a trio ๐Ÿ™‚ President called in the morning… and Sister Shrek actually gets to choose now, whether she should go home or stay. And she decided to stay. Then a few hours later President calls and says that “the Priesthood” called him and said she needs to go home. So it was a horrible roller coaster of emotions, and a super busy start of the week. It was intense. But we are no longer in a trio. It is just Sister Gregory and I ๐Ÿ™‚

Yesterday I had a special experience. Our teacher in class told us to think about a spiritual experience that we’ve had. People gave a few examples like the birth of a baby, their patriarchal blessing, etc. And I was reminded of being in the temple for the first time as a missionary. I was in the Provo, Utah temple and I remember it very clearly. I remember being super nervous. I kept wondering what the heck I was doing. But as I prayed, all I could feel was peace. That peaceful feeling was assuring me that I was doing what the Lord had planned for me. I am grateful that I was able to look back on that experience, to just reassure myself that this is what I need to be doing. I am so grateful for this work. This is the Lord’s work.

I hope you all have a wonderful week!!
We didn’t really take any cool pictures this week, haha sorry. Hey so totally random and holy crap… we drove over a wooden bridge that didn’t have any sides….. and we lived. #thelordwatchesoverhisservants
love,
Sister Dobbins
Leave a Reply

