August 1, 2016 – “Can you give me a blessing so I don’t puke during my talk?”

This week was awesome. We taught Janay, she is like 14 years old. She’s so sweet and I just love her. She is so prepared!! We were teaching her about prophets and we asked her which prophet was her fav, thinking that she’d say a biblical prophet, and she said Joseph Smith!! Her friend, who is in our ward, taught her about Joseph Smith and about the restoration. She’s so cool. We will hopefully have her on date this week! She’s so prepared.

We also taught John and Casey!! They are so prepared as well!!!! They accepted to be baptized and they set their date for October 15!!!! WAHOO! I am so excited for them. They have so much faith and I just love them so much. When we taught them we asked them if we would see them at church, and they were like, “Of course you guys are giving talks, there’s no way we’d miss it!” They’re so sweet.

So asking missionaries to give talks is actually really stressful for us. We have no time for anything. So, we started writing our talks on Saturday night, at 7 PM. We finished at 3:30 AM. It gets worse. The Young Women’s President asked us to teach the lesson in Young Women. So that added to our late night. And I went to bed at 6:30 AM. That’s when missionaries are supposed to wake up. So that was cool. I took a 2 hour nap and then got ready for church. When I woke up I felt sooo sick to my stomach. I wasn’t nervous, I was excited to speak in church. But I felt horrible. I couldn’t even eat breakfast because I knew I wouldn’t be able to keep it down. We called the elders that live close to us and we met them at the church so they could give me a priesthood blessing. Sister Connelly told me I looked so pale. They gave me a blessing and the moment I looked up after their hands left my head, I felt perfect. Sister Connelly told me that I had my color back immediately.

gave-a-talk-yesterday-sister-dobbins-7-31-16 —click for the link to the talk.
I absolutely know that the power of the priesthood is real. I am grateful that the elders are worthy to give me that blessing. I am so grateful to have grown up with the priesthood in my home. I am grateful that my father honors his priesthood. I am so grateful that we have the priesthood authority on this earth today. It is because of the Restoration of this gospel that we have that authority. It is why I am on a mission. This gospel blesses lives. I know that to be true.

I love you all and I love my mission so much.

Love,

Sister Dobbins

image2.JPG

Leave a Reply

