March 7, 2016 – first letter from Oregon

I love Klamath Falls 🙂 Everyone is extremely nice! Sister Allen told me not to expect that in any of the other areas haha. It’s been rough because a lot of the appointments fall through. I had a cool experience with a potential though. she has been taught the missionary lessons for a while now (they call her an eternigator) but she isn’t ready to join the church. She’s an 80 year old woman and her husband just came back to the church after being inactive for like 40 years. So, my very first lesson we taught the law of chastity to an 80-year-old woman. So that was awesome. lol. It was uncomfortable because she told us that she doesn’t need that lesson…. but it was a nice lesson I suppose. The spirit was really strong. And she was very receptive haha. The 2 elders in the ward and my companion and I were all teaching her. We were all there because the elders wanted to hand her off to us to start teaching her now. She was sassy haha. She reminded me of Grandma Rhoton. 🙂 So she was all sassy to the elders, but she loved my companion and I lol. She was so receptive to us two. haha. So she has a problem with tithing as well. She said that she wants to do what she wants with her money. She donates to the Native American Children fund or something. And I of course noticed her beautiful Native American art all around her beautiful house. So at the end of the lesson I told her that I’m Apache. She LIT up! She loooves me. She spoke to me like I was an angel. She is going to gather all of her Apache things and show me when we teach her next. I’m totally going to be the reason why she gets baptized! LOL! hopefully 😉 It would benefit her so much I know it. Her husband just got a temple recommend and he wants to be sealed of course.

So at our Zone Training Meeting, we learned lots of good stuff. And then afterwards we watched Meet the Mormons. It was fun 🙂 Everyone cried about the story of the elder that goes on a mission. It was so relate-able and depressing. But we all have strong testimonies of this work. My zone is awesome! I love them 🙂 last week we played Mafia on p-day. (I hate that game but it was fun because we played a different version) And today on p-day we’re having a nerf war hahaha. We know how to have fun 😉 We had a cool tracting experience. We tracted on a street and literally no one opened their door. Then we were like okay, let’s pray and go somewhere else. We again were told to go to 9th street. We knocked on 3 doors, and in 10 minutes, we got 3 new investigators. The Holy Ghost is awesome! I love being a missionary. 🙂 I love being a member of the church of Jesus Christ of latter-day Saints. Being promised the constant companionship of the holy ghost is one of the greatest blessings ever. In Gospel Principles class yesterday we talked about the holy ghost. People shared their experiences of when they followed the direction of the holy ghost. It is such a strong motivation to be obedient to the Lord’s teachings and to obey the commandments and then be promised to always have the holy ghost. I bore my testimony in the fast and testimony meeting yesterday. The sister training leader said only 17 more to go! lol. I bore my testimony about prayer. I know that Heavenly Father hears and answers each of our prayers! So the two Mesa, AZ girls are freezing in Klamath Falls!!! It snowed yesterday and it was so weird driving in the heavy snow. We felt like we were going into space and then it felt like we were driving backwards!! It felt like we were tripping out it was crazy!! It was just like the beginning of the Space Mountain ride at Disneyland. I’m so cold. And I’m dying to go to Disneyland.
Love, Sister Dobbins
Displaying IMG_0142.JPGDisplaying IMG_0138.JPG
Leave a Reply

